Oahu’s Triple D – AAA Local BBQ

Welcome to Mo’s Triple D series (Diners, Drive-ins and Dives), Oahu, Hawaii version! Ok, our places does not quite fit the name, but let’s forget the chains, tourist favourites and the Roy’s and Alan Wongs (which I totally recommend trying Alan Wong’s at least once) and visit some of the local favourites of Oahu.

One of the take out stands outside Don Quixote (Ala Moana, Honolulu).

First stop is AAA Local BBQ.  It’s located next to Don Quixote which is a supermarket that I could literally spend hours in.  Despite its Spanish name, the store is like a Japanese supermarket with lots of cool and cheap housewares.  You can find souvenirs like nuts and coffee beans here at a cheap price when it’s on sale.  Best part about it is that it’s open 24/7.  Before Little Patch came along, Patch and I used to frequent DQ late at night for midnight snacks and beer ($2 Asahi/Sapporo the size of my head!).

The restaurant name is not very intriguing but in the 5 minutes that I was there reading their menu, there was one local after another grabbing take out from them.

The take-out window.

I ordered their 2 item combo which was BBQ short ribs and grill ahi ($7.99, $6.99 if it’s not ribs or seafood).  Patch ordered the curry chicken plate.  One thing I noticed is that Hawaiians love their scoop rice and macaroni salad.  Almost every plate lunch/dinner comes with it.  Not a bowl of rice, but scoops of rice.   One scoop or two scoops… it’s kinda cute.  That also changes the way I see big people here… when I see a big girl in Vancouver, I think ‘Dang, that girl is Fat with a capital F.‘ In Hawaii, if I saw the same girl, I would think ‘Girl sure loves her macaroni salad and oil rice.‘  But then, Hawaiian fatties don’t wear Lululemon pants 2 sizes too small!

Chicken and curry plate

Grilled ahi and BBQ ribs

The short rib has some fat and it's a bit of a gooey texture (because of honey?)

The light crust on the grilled ahi.

I think the food is made fresh to order as it took about 10 minutes for my order to be ready.  The server speaks Cantonese.

The BBQ ribs were dry but tasty.  It’s a bit on the lean side though.  The grilled ahi was not what I expected.  The ahi was marinaded in garlic sauce (no real chunks of garlic here) and I realized that I don’t really like cooked ahi as it is a bit too flakey for me. It’s a thin piece (for fast cooking?) and also is kinda dry for me.  I think it would be better if it came with sauce on top or on the side.

The macaroni salad is just macaroni salad.  It could use a bit more seasoning. The rice was a bit mushy but I don’t know if that’s how Hawaiians roll with their rice.

Overall, the food is okay but I don’t have anything to compare this to, so as a meal on its own, it’s pretty decent and I can see why locals keep coming back.

Aaa Local BBQ on Urbanspoon

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Oahu's Triple D and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dang, didn’t have to ask, knew you would post sooner or later :) the curry plate looks yummy! Was it chicken in the curry as well, or beef? Regarding ahi, it does look a bit bland. It goes best with lemon, white wine and capers! It’s the Hawaiian classic lol! Thanks for the beans!

  1. Pingback: Oahu’s Triple D – Me’s Bar-B-Que (Waikiki) | Green Bean & Eco-Mo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

