Oahu’s Triple D – Macky’s Kahuku Sweet Shrimp

We were lucky that no one was there mid-day. Only 5 minute wait! Macky chilling outside his truck.

This is probably Giovanni‘s biggest competitor in the shrimp shack business and I have to say that Giovanni’s gets my vote hands down.  I don’t even know why I came to try.  Perhaps this differentiates foodies who likes saucy food or not. 

We ordered 2 plates – coconut fried shrimp and butter garlic shrimp plates ($12).  The plates with 2 scoops of rice (surprise surprise), small side salad with dressing and a slice of pineapple.  Many critics praise that the slice of pineapple adds a nice touch but I didn’t feel that it did anything to make up for the lack of flavour.

Coconut Fried Shrimp - lightly fried but the coconut flavour is lighter. No extra sauce to accompany the rice.

Butter Garlic shrimp - when I saw this, my initial reaction was 'Seriously?'... after tasting it, I was not only disappointed, but sad and angry!

To this day, I still question if this is the same Macky that clinched the title for the 2005 Battle of the Shrimp Trucks (hosted by Turtle Bay) which is strange that I couldn’t find the results for the contest in the following years (if any).  Anyway, may I dare say this risking an outcry from Macky lovers… my meal was sucky.

Macky's Kahuku Sweet Shrimp on Urbanspoon

Posted on March 30, 2011, in Oahu's Triple D and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Apparently it was very contentious that they won so Turtle Bay didn’t continue with the competition. I got the info when I read Food Trucks: Dispatches and Recipes from the Best Kitchens on Wheels. Macky’s family used to own a prawn farm or something and had the sweetest shrimp, but they sold that business long ago and just have their shrimp truck. My favourite shrimp truck was actually Blue Water right in Waikiki. I thought Giovanni’s was just okay. The best truck on Haleiwa is Opal’s Thai. Amazing food.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

