What’s the Cost to be a Stay-at-Home Mom?

I’ve been reading a lot of mommy blogs and found that many of them have something in common. They are stay-at-home moms. After reading more of their posts and putting the pieces together, I also noticed that many of them have spouses with a middle range income. I’m quite baffled at how a moms of 2+ children can stay at home.

I am becoming more attracted to the idea of being a stay-at-home mom. However, losing one income is quite a hit for our family. And having one child doesn’t not warrant quitting my job and spending all my time with him. However, having multiple children would make more sense to stay home but that also means I would have more mouths to feed with one income.

Unfortunately, our family are not in the position to live on the income of my Patch’s alone. We are renting and saving to purchase our own home. But if you live in Vancouver, you would know that housing prices spell out i-n-s-a-n-e.

If there’s a way to make this work, I would love to know! Perhaps we should start buying lottery tickets…

Posted on June 6, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

