Softsoap’s Liquid Handsoap Misleading Label?

I wish someone would clarify this to me.   I’ve been using non-antibacterial products for awhile now.  I buy products that doesn’t say Anti-bacterial and trust that it doesn’t have harmful ingredients such as Triclosan.

But I was comparing the ingredients of SoftSoap’s “Refreshing” Pink Grapefruit to Softsoap’s “Antibacterial” protection in Pink Grapefruit and it has the same ingredients.  So does that mean that it is  the same except it’s under a different label?  Well, at least it doesn’t have Triclosan.

Here are the ingredients from the packaging: Water, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Lauramide DEA, Sodium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Polyquaternium 7, Glycerin, Benzophenone 4, Citrus Grandis Oil (Grapefruit), Hydrolyzed Silk, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, FD&C Red 4, D&C Red 33 .

Posted on August 14, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Softsoap is not that great because there are too many harsh chemicals in it. Actually, anything that is not mild like baby soap or cetaphil is not good for your hands, especially if you wash them very often. I started to develop “mommy hands” (as my doctor called them). They are dry and flaky and disgusting. The only way around it is to use really mild soap and moisturizer. Hope you won’t run into the same trouble as I do.

    • Thanks for your input. Do you have any recommendations? Right now, I’m switching softsoap to Nature’s Gate (trying out purifying and moisturizing type to see which works better). I don’t use any hand creams so my hands so get pretty rough at times. My fingers sometimes get caught in fine fabric because of the rough edges around the nail bed.

      Is Cetaphil good for washing hands or do they have a handsoap product? I have Cetaphil at home but it’s a face cleanser, not sure if that’s the one you mean…

      • I totally know what you mean! My fingers still get caught in finer fabrics. It annoys me to no neds, but I am just not very good at putting on moisturizers. Well, at least, my skin is not peeling or is red and irritated anymore, which is good. My doctor just recommended me using baby soap (Dove sensitive) or any soap that does not have fragrance in it. The one that we have is called gentle skin cleanser. You can get it from Costco for a relatively good price. I also like J&J’s head to toe foam soap. I actually use all three in my house! Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

