Baby’s Clothing Advice… and why I’m a Hypocrite.

Over the course of my pregnancy, I had received advice from many friends. Some advice was well received and some I brushed it off.  Now with some colleagues  expecting, many had turned to me for advice.  But I’m not one to sound off my thoughts, oh, who am I kidding, I love to rant.

Looking back, there was one piece of advice I wish I followed but did not and is slightly regretting it.

Buying baby clothes – everyone will tell you this – Don’t invest too much in baby clothing. You will receive them as gifts.  You will receive a lot!  Especially if you are having a baby shower, you can count on guests that are parents to give you useful items that they know it’s useful.  You can also count on non-parents to give you the ‘safe gifts’ such as clothing, bath towels , blankies, plushies and gift sets.

I didn’t take this advice seriously.  I still bought clothing because a) it was  on sale and b) it was too cute and I couldn’t resist.  In the end, I realized that the first few months, Little Patch wore mostly onesies and sleepers.  His ‘cool street clothes’ were worn about 3 times at most.

Also, if you are inexperienced in buying baby clothing, you will  tend to overspend on your first shopping trips.  And I don’t mean overspending as in buying Burberry Kids (unless you named your child Hollingsworth IV). I thought I got a sweet deal at the Gap when I bought a pack of 3 long sleeved onesies for $16 (originally $25) thinking that $5 each is not so bad.  Then the next day, I went to Old Navy and saw that the same onesies were for $12.    Now, I can tell you that you can find it for even cheaper!

Don’t bother with pants in the first few months, especially denim. They are hard to put on and you will eventually give up putting pants on your baby after the 3rd diaper change of the day.

Babies do not need shoes. Yes, they are cute but baby’s shoes are over priced and unless your baby is a child-athlete prodigy that can already walk on his own by 6 months, just leave the shoes out.  I know, some shoes are just too cute but even if you put it on the baby, he will eventually kick it off wherever he is.   I find that shoes and socks are too restricted so I buy little booties (they look like a little sack for the feet, much looser than socks) instead.

I have to admit that even giving out such advice, I will still buy Little Patch’s clothing knowing that I will regret it… especially if I’m at the Carters or Osh Gosh outlets.

 

Posted on August 21, 2010, in Pregnancy, References and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

