Oahu’s Triple D – Quick Break from Liliha Bakery

Their signature box is recognized by all locals.

Lilihua Bakery is a popular bakery with locals.  Since I’m not a pastry fan (which by now, I’m convinced that Hawaii can convert me to like a lot of foods that I normally go meh about – except ginger… no freaking way), I wasn’t particularly excited about eating a pastry puff.  I’ve had Costco’s cream puffs to Beard Papa’s puffs, aren’t they all the same?

Well, guess a coco puff with the nickname Magic Puff does not fall into that category.  The size of these puffs are big.  Took about 4-5 bites to finish it.

These are BIG and I don't mean 2 bites big. This is a dessert on its own.

The pastry is dense and heavy.  It’s definitely not a light puff.  Its topping is chantilly which tastes vanilla-y, tooth-aching-ly sweet and has a coconut flake texture.  I just googled for chantilly recipes and most recipes also calls for mac nuts as well which I couldn’t tell if this has mac nuts… well, if I had a nut allergy, I would know but I don’t.  When you bite into it, you can feel the pulp from the icing.  You have to eat the icing with the puff, do not lick the icing off first or you’ll be picking up your teeth from the floor.

The buttery smooth chocolate pudding filling.

I was sold when I heard it’s chocolate filled.  Unlike the chantilly topping, the chocolate pudding is not too sweet so it balances nicely with the pastry puff and the mountain of sugar on top.  I couldn’t help but stick my tongue in to fish out the pudding.  Classy, I know.  But if this stuff comes in a jar on its own, I would get a truckload of it and eat it with a spoon.

According to their website, their new flavour is green tea which I will definitely go for next time I’m in town again!

Liliha Bakery on Urbanspoon

Posted on March 28, 2011, in Oahu's Triple D and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

